Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Kerrison Posts: 16, Reputation: 1

Aug 13, 2007, 10:53 PM
    Informal Tennancy? Eviction Procedures?
    Hi all- urgent help needed here.

I have learned a hard life lesson this week- always get a lease signed!

I live in Virginia and I rent an "Above Garage Apt." from a family. There was never a lease and it was done month-to-month. I do have a copy of the 'ad' the owner typed up describing the facility. Other than cancelled checks, this is the only paperwork I have.

I moved in at the end of last August and have paid rent in 2 installments (as per arrangements made with the owner/landlord) monthly by writing her post-dated checks and leaving with her to cash.

I do this because I am a corporate trainer and I am gone for 7-9+ days at a time when I travel and only home for 3 or 4 days at a time. In short, I'm NEVER home- home for maybe 10 days a month.

My rent was to include water, sewage, trash, satellite, and the ability to add an internet connection via satellite TV later on.

Since the day I moved in, I have had water pressure problems. Sometimes I have water, sometimes I have none at all. I always make a note to tell my landlord when there is a problem. ((She does not communicate with me via email or in writing, instead via text message.)) I have resorted to rinsing out my hair in the back yard with a garden hose when the water doesn't work in the apartment. Various water pumps, units, gadgets have been replaced but the water has NEVER worked correctly since I've been here. In the 11.5months, the water has worked correctly maybe for a week, total.

The satellite was added to the facility 9 months ago - and a wireless router installed to give me the service I needed for work.
    3 weeks ago, the wireless router was removed without warning, causing me lost wages.