Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    thetransporter Posts: 10, Reputation: -1

Jun 30, 2007, 03:03 AM
    Post traumatic stress disorder/manic depression
    Hi everyone and a very special hello and thank you to Janine S J_9:
    I cannot find out how to say thank you to personaly on this communications profile but well done to all any way

I am looking for a definitive description or opinion on post traumatic stress disorder civil/domestic/personal & Military.

I need to know relatively as much about the condition.

I need to assertain its links with Manic depression or depression like bi-polar states.

once again I very kindly ask for no keyboard heroes or barrack room smart remarks please, no egos in this equation.

I am working pro-bono in europe on a non USA investigation, claim/case for injured service personel.
    I am a lawyer ex special forces service operative.

ciao to everyone

frank.:)
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Jun 30, 2007, 06:26 AM
    Here is a link to a home page, created by Edwin Hissink, a PTSD sufferer. http://www.geocities.com/homepagepts..._homepage.html

The National Institute of Mental Health defines Post Traumatic Stress Disorder as, "anxiety disorder that can develop after exposure to a terrifying event or ordeal in which grave physical harm occurred or was threatened. Traumatic events that may trigger PTSD include violent personal assaults, natural or human-caused disasters, accidents, or military combat." See their website - NIMH: Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

From the Mayo Clinic site - Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) - MayoClinic.com -

"Post-traumatic stress disorder can disrupt your whole life, from your job to your relationships to your enjoyment of everyday activities.
    Having PTSD also may place you at a higher risk of other mental health problems, including:

Depression
    Drug abuse
    Alcohol abuse
    Eating disorders
    Suicidal thoughts and actions