Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    seekinghelp07 Posts: 2, Reputation: 2

Jun 27, 2007, 12:12 AM
    More Fathers are getting custody?
    How much truth is in this article, Why more Fathers are getting custody?
    This is my first time knowing that nowadays fathers mostly win the custody of their children over the mothers. A little surprised on this change of trend because usually mothers win the custody of the children. But happy since fathers can now fight and have their children. What can you say about this?
    margarita_momma Posts: 299, Reputation: 46

Jun 27, 2007, 02:41 PM
    Actually I am going through a divorce right now and my ex-husband is getting custody of our son. He makes twice as much as I do, had the house before we were married and has his mom and dad baby sit during the day. Since I have left him, I can barely afford my half of the bills much less taking care of my son financially. I felt that the right thing to do for my son was to let him stay with his father so he can be provided for and live in a stable home. I live in an apartment on the top floor and that is no place for a toddler.
    LadyB Posts: 320, Reputation: 42

Jun 27, 2007, 02:54 PM
    I think for many years men simply didn't fight for custody, or assumed they couldn't win, but now are more cognizant of their strength and capabilities as parents and ask for it. My brother just assumed in this way, and when we told him to ask for residential custody, he won.
    startover22 Posts: 2,758, Reputation: 363
    Ultra Member

Jun 27, 2007, 03:00 PM