Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jack2794 Posts: 77, Reputation: 2

May 9, 2008, 01:30 PM
    What is an ethernet card?
    Hi,

If I buy a pocket PC with an ethernet card does that mean I will be able to access the internet using my home wireless internet connection?

Thank you in advance for the help,

Jack
    progunr Posts: 1,971, Reputation: 288
    Ultra Member

May 9, 2008, 02:31 PM
    No.

An ethernet card allows a computer to communicate with other computers in a network.

You would need a wireless card for internet access.

With a normal card, you will need a service provider with a wireless router or you could get one from the cell providers for satellite access.

May 9, 2008, 02:36 PM
    Oh OK. Just another quick question then - if it connects to another PC in the network that is using the wireless internet connection will it work then?

Thank you for explaining - I'm not good at knowing what all these things do.

Jack
    Ultra Member

May 9, 2008, 03:42 PM
    As long as the wireless connection is available to ALL users on that network, yes.

It will not transfer from one computer to yours.

May 10, 2008, 04:49 AM
    Thank you for your answer again. If I get a pocket PC with wifi will it be able to connect to the internet - I think you can but am not sure...
    Thank you for your help,

Jack
    Ultra Member

May 10, 2008, 07:23 AM
    Wifi means that it already has a wireless card built in but you still need an internet service provider and a wireless router.

If you really want access to the internet just about anywhere, you need the cell carrier satellite card. I think it runs about $99 a month for that service.

WiFi will still require that you be in the range of the wireless router to access the net, the cell service works just about anywhere.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Check out some similar questions!