Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bruce023 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 2, 2009, 11:12 AM
    Most of my golfish swim updide down sometimes
    Hi

Grateful if you could advise please. Most of my goldfish swim upside down. And when I'm cleaning the tank, should I be able to change all the water tank?

Thanks
    shazamataz Posts: 6,642, Reputation: 1244
    Uber Member

Aug 2, 2009, 11:22 AM

When doing a water change you should never change more than 50% of the water, less is recommended.

The water in the tank grows good bacteria which the fish need, if you remove all of the water then the cycle has to start all over again.

I am far from a fish expert but usually swimming upside down means something do to with their swim bladder.
    Green peas are the easiest way to help treat it.
    joyluo1999 Posts: 240, Reputation: 12

Aug 4, 2009, 07:43 AM
    I'm thinking your fish have a problem with their swimbladder.
    Green peas work well but sometimes the fish don't like to eat them.

Good Luck!:)

Joy
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Aug 4, 2009, 12:40 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by joyluo1999 View Post
    I'm thinking your fish have a problem with their swimbladder.
    Green peas work well but sometimes the fish don't like to eat them.

Good Luck!:)

Joy
    Joy, just repeating what others have already said isn't helpful.

Please only post if you have something new to add.

Thanks.
    AuntSwee Posts: 131, Reputation: 19

Aug 5, 2009, 01:32 PM

Just an example of what happens when you change all the water in the tank. I did that not knowing that you are not suppose to do that and killed almost all of my fish. I didn't just do that to one tank I did it to all 3 tanks, I now have only one tank as the fish are gone and now I have to spend the money to replace all the fish.