Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    French Yankee Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Sep 17, 2008, 05:41 PM
    How to Beat 50 Yeal Deadline on Dual French/US Citizenship?
    I'm wondering if anyone out there has heard of a 50 year deadline for affirming dual citizenship? And if so, do you know any simple technicalities or ways around the rule? I am age 57. I think I've been writing the French Consulate since I was 47 in 1998 and never once got a reply.

Sylvie Obert of the French Consulate in Chicago has just sent me an email stating:

"After 50 years without any French document, you loose your right to ask for the French nationality through your French mother. As you are born in 1951, you can't be French anymore."

I'm devastated to hear such a harsh rule.
    - French Yankee
    lawanwadee Posts: 3,653, Reputation: 124
    Immigration Expert

Sep 17, 2008, 10:41 PM
    I am not surprise... as a matter of fact, immigration laws in many countries have been changed after 9/11. UK and a few EU countries no longer grant citizenship to babies born to alien parents, though they have legal status. Permanent residents are required to live in the country for a certain period, otherwise the status will be revoked, etc.

In case that you hold dual citizenship, you must maintain record of yourself at all time, which means you must have passports, IDs, and military records in both countries. At this point, I am afraid there is nothing you can do. Sorry.. not much help this time.

Sep 18, 2008, 01:11 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by lawanwadee
    a few EU countries no longer grant citizenship to babies born to alien parents, though they have legal status. Permanent residents are required to live in the country for a certain period of time, otherwise the status will be revoked, etc.