Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Muggs Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Apr 8, 2008, 06:32 PM
    Meniscus tears & arthroscopy
    Hello! I hurt my knee just by standing up 2 weeks ago. When I stood up; I felt this pop & then my knee hurt & swelled up. The MRI showed a posterior horn meniscal tear & a medial "body tear", myxoid degeneration, & a parameniscal cyst. I have pain on & off which is manageble with advil EXCEPT the knee does snag or lock once & a while which hurts much worse but I manage. I am still working (limping.. lol) I was advised to have arthroscopic surgery. My appointment was quite BRIEF because the physician was busy & he looked though the mri's & did a small manual exam & said "yep it's a tear". I was told I should be able to return to work in 5-7 days after the procedure (I think even working on it now doesn't help much either but they say it is OK & I need the money). I am a nurse but do not have a vast experience with knee disorders. I think that is a short recovery period? I do not work in the orthopedic field & was wondering if anyone can tell me more information about the condition or their similar experience with the surgery or condition. I appreciate any info. Thanks!
    inthebox Posts: 787, Reputation: 179

Apr 8, 2008, 10:13 PM
    You may get a second ortho opinion.

Because/ if your occupation requires pivoting, turning, bending, squating, going up and down stairs or walking on uneven ground, the torn meniscus may cause more pain swelling, locking, buckling, popping. An arthroscopic meniscectomy would be advisable.
    Often this is a same day surgery procedure [ no ligament involvement ].

That, physical therapy, and anti inflamatories.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Puppy EMERGENCY I'm in tears over this [ 11 Answers ]