Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Simon-peter Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 4, 2006, 06:19 PM
    Mobile Home Service Wire
    I just bought a used Mobile Home - The previous owner moved the meter box from the back to the front - It has not been hooked up to the electric company since then - I know he should have done it with a permit - but I am now the owner. I am not an electrician. I live in Manitoba Canada. Here is the question - The previous owner used 2 RW-90 2/0 copper wires for the hot and a #6 stranded bare copper wire for the neutral the same also for the ground. I want to call Manitoba Hydro to inspect it, but before I do I want to know if this is right. If not then I must have an electrician change it. The previous is not an electrician either. I need an answer ASAP - our daughter needs to move into that trailer within a week or two.
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Dec 4, 2006, 06:55 PM
    The 2/0 is good for 200 amp, but in the USA the neutral may be a reduced neutral about a #1 insulated, and the ground would be a #4.

Best to have a local electrician check it and make a recommendation.

Also check with a real estate expert or an attorney to determine if the previous owner is responsible for improper work.
    hvac1000 Posts: 14,540, Reputation: 435
    Heating & Air Conditioning Expert

Dec 8, 2006, 07:01 AM
    If this is the wiring to the trailers inside you need to have an insulater ground along with the other 2 hot legs and an insulated neutral for service. NEC says so.
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Dec 8, 2006, 12:13 PM
    Poster states he is in Canada, and the NEC does not apply there, only in USA and territories.

This is why he should consult with a local electrician who will know the local code.
    hvac1000 Posts: 14,540, Reputation: 435
    Heating & Air Conditioning Expert

Dec 8, 2006, 12:16 PM