Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jcfeucht Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

May 13, 2008, 09:07 AM
    Credit Card Debt of Senior Mother
    When my father passed away in 1996, he left my mother with significant debt - near $120K. They had no savings, no investments but just a paid house which she sold and applied to the debt. I had been assisting them for 20 years prior with money each month (due to the fact that my father was handicapped and unable to work; huge medical bills, etc.) but was unaware of the magnitude of their debt. My mother moved in with me and I have been supporting her and paying down the remainder of the debt for the last 11 years.

There is still $25K remaining in her name from about 5 credit card accounts. I have recently lost my job and while I have found 2 part time jobs - my income has been sorely compromised. I have spoken to my attorney and to 2 financial planners - all 3 of whom have told me to default on my mother's debt. Their comments are that since she lives with me, owns nothing, is the age she is (82) and has only $600 month social security that "they" can't do anything to her if she just stops paying the bills. There is no money for her to file bankruptcy.

Instead of taking this advice immediately, I contacted her creditors - on more than one occasion to try to work out payment arrangements. None will talk to me - I am not the cardholder and my mother is no longer able to handle her own financial affairs. While I have Power of Attorney, my own personal attorney advised me strongly not to put my name on anything that has to do with her debt. I am not looking to walk away from the debt (as I was advised to do) but rather to try to work out something with the creditors but they won't work with me. One finally told me that until the accounts would be 6 or more months in arrears that NO credit card company will even think of working with me.