Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ohdangitsaudrey Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Dec 25, 2007, 03:32 PM
    How do I become a pharmacist?
    I'm currently a sophomore in HS and I'm not too sure what classes/steps I should take to become a pharmacist. Help anyone?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Dec 25, 2007, 03:48 PM
    Take all the science classes that are offered, or that you are allowed to take as electives. General Psych and Sociology are both good. Check with your guidance counselor about colleges that specialize in a pre-pharmacy program. You will have to go to grad school too, so keep your grades up.
    asking Posts: 2,673, Reputation: 660
    Ultra Member

Dec 30, 2007, 05:53 PM
    I agree with Wondergirl. Take whatever you need to major in biology or chemistry or pharmacology in college. Here's a list of pharmacy schools in the U.S. from Wikipedia.

List of pharmacy schools - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

You can also read about pharmacology and related topics there.

If you are outside the U.S. there are other lists at Wikipedia too. Good luck!
    Asking
    ohdangitsaudrey Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Dec 30, 2007, 08:31 PM
    Thank you! (:
    piernbeam Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Feb 9, 2012, 06:08 PM
    Good for you to plan ahead as a sophomore.
    To be a pharmacist you'll need to:
    (2 years) High school: take and do well in chemistry, biology & math
    (4 years) Undergraduate: Take and do well in Chemistry, biochemistry and math
    Take the PCAT (Pharmacy College Admissions Test), apply/ get accepted to a school
    (4 years) Graduate school: 3 years of didactic training, 1 year of interning
    Graduate with your PharmD. Doctor of Pharmacy degree
    Pass the NAPLEX (drug knowledge) and MPJE (Federal and state law) tests = Registered
    Additionally, you can choose to do Post Graduate residencies: