Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    david sul Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 12, 2007, 02:55 AM
    Dodge ram 1500
    I have read some previous posts and it seems there are similar problems. My truck only has luke warm heat. I flushed the cooling system, new thermostat, OEM 195 degree, flushed heater core many times, water free flows very strong through heater core. I too have a spot on my temperature knob that sticks a little. I opened the dash, took out the temperature control panel and the cable and gears all seem to work well. Hoses to and from heater core at the firewall are hot. If it is the "door" the temp. control knob controls, how and where do I get to it? Is there a vacuum control on this vehicle also? Where? Any help would be great, thanks!
    ookinschma Posts: 14, Reputation: 1

Jan 18, 2007, 06:21 PM
    Hi
    What year is your Ram? I have a lot of experience with the 94-01 models. They actually have both vacuum and cable operated plenum doors. The heater door is on the other end of the cable you describe, and is most likely the problem, and VERY hard to access as it is behind the dash, and parts of the glove box, etc.It is a door that allows the hot air from the heater core to enter the heater/air conditioning plenum (air box) There are several vacuum operated plenum doors that shift the airflow to different outlets, defrost, dash, floor etc. but they are controlled by the other knob. My 1995 Ram has the same problem you have, and I have been dreading the prospect of starting to fix it. Luckily, it doesn't get really cold where I live!
    Hope this helps!
    mack1950 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 21, 2007, 04:34 AM
    I have a 1994 dodge ram 1500 and the temp gauge is all the way to the hot position but the van isn't running hot .but I only get heat when it is moving when I com to a stop it blows cold air.had a water pump replaced .that is when the problem started any ideas
    frankortiz Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 21, 2007, 04:26 PM