Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    thejetzer Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Apr 16, 2008, 02:55 PM
    Event Electrician looking for more
    Hello pro electricians,
    I am an Event Electrician who works in the NY and Las Vegas areas for special events, concerts, festivals, etc etc. I am not associated with any union, and I freelance for work. I did attend college for Theatrical Lighting Design, and act very often as a Master Electrician on events.

My questions for you are:
    1) What is the best way to go about learning codes, both national and local? Method better than reading the plain old full NEC book?

2) Is there any route for any level of certification without apprenticeship?

3) Any books you highly recommend?

I've learned a lot from college and working the past few years for events, and definitely am more knowledgeable about power than average stagehands, but I lack a lot of knowledge for codes and issues I don't run into in setting up temporary power solutions.

Thanks for all of your suggestions and tips!
    Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member

Apr 16, 2008, 04:05 PM
    Quote: "and act very often as a Master Electrician on events".
    So you're an Actor?
    I would go to a place like Mike Holt Enterprises:
    Mike Holt
    They have Practice Exams for Journeyman and Master.
    I would not only have the NEC Code Book, but the NEC Handbook.
    For the Journeyman and Master Exam you can also have "American Electricians Handbook"
    I had it for my Journeyman, couldn't find for my Master, didn't want to buy another(expensive). Figured If I didn't know it by now(without the handbook) I didn't deserve the Master. I lucked out and passed.
    There is also Uglys for formulas:
    Ugly's Electrical Reference
    This will keep you busy for a while.
    stanfortyman Posts: 5,598, Reputation: 279
    Electrical & Lighting Expert

Apr 16, 2008, 05:03 PM