Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sandrobrazill Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 19, 2009, 10:42 AM
    Invest in Stock Market
    I thought about having fidelity to get me started at buying stock. I have been following some stocks for months. But I'm just beginning... so are mutual funds really the best to start with? I'm just looking for the simple thing; invest in cent stocks, where I can ONLY lose the money I already invested and at the same time learn. Can someone give me a solid example of sotck they bought, what they had to pay for, what to do to get a broker, everything prettty much. I need to know step by step. Thank you
    walt17 Posts: 335, Reputation: 28

Jun 20, 2009, 09:52 AM
    Since you said you need to "everything pretty much" I would recommend that you do not open an account of any type at this time. Start by doing some studying. A good free source is Investopedia. Link at the bottom. They provide a large amount of articles and tutorials that will enable you to get a good understanding of most investing areas. They also provide a simulator so you can practice while you learn. Another free source is your public library.

If you choose to start with mutual funds be sure to select broad based, no load funds. Then add sector specific funds after you have done some study.

Fidelity is a good broker, especially if your focus is on mutual funds. Or if you will be seeking investment advice. But for the do-it-yourself investor my preference is Scottrade. Comparing service and cost I believe they offer the more for your money than other brokers.

Welcome to Investopedia.com - Your Source for Investing Education
    garys7 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jul 5, 2009, 11:02 AM

I would stay away from Mutual Funds and look into ETFs the expense ratio is less. Also I would suggest that you paper trade for a while to get the hang of it. Now is not a safe time to be in the market.
    morgaine300 Posts: 6,561, Reputation: 276
    Uber Member