Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    k777a Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 30, 2007, 01:58 AM
    Overseas Summons for Credit card debt
    Hi,
    Can anyone help me? I just received notice of a Court Summons delivered by a U.S. Marshall to my parent's home in Los Angeles. I currently live in South Korea. I will not be back in the states till a year or two. I was planning on paying for the debts I incurred after I finish working here.
    Problem is that my parents or cousin excepted the summons on my behalf, idiotic yes! I have been dodging creditors for a couple years now.
    I know that I must make the correct correspondance and agreements to payback the debt I currently owe. However, can anyone help?
    Question: What are the statue of limitations on credit card debt in California?
    Question: Where can I find out more about legal help, free if available?
    Question: Can I go to jail? Since a family member accepted the summons on my behalf? Am I committed to appearing? Does anyone know of the websites?
    Question: Should I make an effort ASAP to correct this situation, or keep waiting and make it pile up, thinking that it will go away?
    I know these seem like cowardly words, I am just not financially ready to begin to pay these creditors. Especially, since the summons that was delivered was from a "big" name corporation and the debt is for $2000 or so.
    Any reply will be greatly appreciated.
    In fear, k777a
    rockinmommy Posts: 1,123, Reputation: 82
    Ultra Member

Aug 30, 2007, 06:37 AM
    It's a civil matter - not a criminal matter, so you won't wind up in jail. They'll just get a default judgement against you. Even if you showed up in court they'd still be awarded a judgement - unless you have some defense for not paying your debts.