Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Taxes (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=320)
-   -   F1 Status+self Employment (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=19049)

• Jan 28, 2006, 08:53 PM
    banakns
    F1 Status+self Employment
    Hi,
    I am a student in US with F1 visa status. I started a website recently and put Google adsense and paypal donations. I have 2 urgent questions:

1. Is it legal to run a website that earns money throud ads with F1 status in USA?
    2. Am I required to file a tax form for any sort of donations I receive?

I tried to Google about those questions but could not find any appropriate answer. Will someone help me figure this out?

Thanks in advance.
  • Jan 28, 2006, 09:37 PM
    AtlantaTaxExpert
    Banakns:

1) It is legal.

2) How much are we talking about?
  • Jan 28, 2006, 10:55 PM
    banakns
    First of all, thanks for such a quick response. I am feeling good now!

I have launched ny site obly for about a month.. I guess I will get about 100-150 on my first Google pay check.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlantaTaxExpert
    Banakns:

1) It is legal.

2) How much are we talking about?

• Jan 29, 2006, 12:48 AM
    AtlantaTaxExpert
    Banakns:

Despite the fact you call it "donations", the IRS considers them payments for products or services provided and therefore taxable income.

For this reason, you must track this income as well as the associated expenses. You pay taxes on the net (gross income minus allowable expenses).

Both the gross income and the expenses are reported on Schedule C. Track both carefully and keep good records. Report it honestly and pay the required taxes and you should have no problems with the IRS.
  • Jan 29, 2006, 09:53 AM
    banakns
    Thanks. I will keep records of everything. I have no problem paying taxes, I was just not sure if it is legal with F1 visa status. Thanks again. You are really nice and help me a lot!