Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Networking (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=76)
-   -   Net send problem (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=38064)

  • Oct 19, 2006, 08:48 PM
    Phiggy
    Net send problem
    Hi,
    I have a problem when I am sending a message via net send through cmd.

    Below is the error message.

    'netsend' is not recognised as an internal or external command, operable command or batch file.

    I also have tried the following;

    1 - net start messenger... still no luck
    2 - starting the messenger service... still no luck at all

    Please help me out :o
  • Oct 20, 2006, 02:21 AM
    LTheobald
    It's "net send". You just need a space in there. The syntax is as follows:

    Code:

    NET SEND {name | * | /DOMAIN[:name] | /USERS} message

    So something like:
    Code:

    net send myPCName "Hello there!"
    Should work
  • Nov 8, 2006, 03:12 PM
    Zerone
    Try Msg command, I do it at my college for a laugh to the whole network.

    Ill shall explain.
    Open Command Prompt. (RUN > cmd)

    Then type

    msg * hello

    That will send a message to every computer on the network. The * means Everycomputer. You can also do it by User name. So at my college it would be...

    msg zerone hello

    And that would send a message to me.

    If you just type..

    msg

    That would give you all the commands which can be used with the message command.

    Thanks. - ZerOne
  • Nov 8, 2006, 03:36 PM
    NeedKarma
    Some network admins have disabled the net send command due to abuse by the users.
  • Nov 9, 2006, 01:07 PM
    Zerone
    Quote:

    Originally Posted by Phiggy
    Hi,
    I have a problem when i am sending a message via net send through cmd.

    Below is the error message.

    'netsend' is not recognised as an internal or external command, operable command or batch file.

    i also have tried the following;

    1 - net start messanger .......... still no luck
    2 - starting the messanger service .....still no luck at all

    Please help me out :o

    But, his message which he revieced isn't a type of message you get if its blocked. It would say "this command has been blocked by your administrator". But, we don't know yet. As it doesn't even reconise the command.
  • Nov 9, 2006, 01:26 PM
    NeedKarma
    What OS are you using on the desktop and what is the network OS?
  • Nov 21, 2006, 07:55 PM
    Phiggy
    I am using windows XP Pro

  • All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 AM.