Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Fish (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=516)
-   -   First time fish owner (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=808629)

• Feb 23, 2015, 04:54 PM
    daniigurl
    First time fish owner
    Recently decided to get my little one a pet fish. I selected a betta, one that was very aggressive and active initially. I placed him into a five gallon tank with a filter and an LED light. He has an adequate amount of plants and hiding places, I make sure the temperature is between the appropriate ranges, and do my best to make sure he has a night and day cycle. After about 1.5 weeks I noticed he started making his first bubble nest. I was very excited and happy to see this, however, it's been roughly a week and I've noticed a slight change in his behavior. I'm no expert on fish behavior so I'm not sure if I'm overly concerned or if there's something going on. His appetite has decreased quite a bit. I was giving him between 4-6 pellets a day after I noticed him coming to the surface more frequently in search for food when giving him just 2-3. I've cut back on his food since he's not eating as frequently, after giving him 2 pellets he just doesn't seem that interested in eating. He still seems to be pretty active, no unusual signs aside from his appetite. Does he just not enjoy the food or should I suspect something more?
  • Feb 23, 2015, 05:51 PM
    joypulv
    Could there be rotting food on the bottom? Is the water cloudy? I'm wondering if you overfed him.
    Does the filter create bubbles to oxygenate the water?
    Fish don't always gulp at the surface looking for food.
  • Feb 23, 2015, 09:23 PM
    daniigurl