Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Real Estate Law (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Personal property eviction laws for foreclosure in va (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=436626)

• Jan 18, 2010, 09:14 PM
    carikm
    Personal property eviction laws for foreclosure in va
    I am a realtor in va and was assigned a foreclosure home to sell. The property was still full of furnishings. I notified the bank and was told to have it trashed out. I hired a co. to perform this task for which the bank has paid this co. Now the owner has suddenly appeared and says that he wants his personal property back. We did return a pull trailer back to him at the banks request. The bank is now holding all offers on the property until this is cleared up. What do I do? Can this owner come after me?
  • Jan 19, 2010, 10:01 PM
    rosemcs

So is this after the N.O.D. and before the actual foreclosure OR is this already bank owned property?

I can tell you as a Realtor in another state, that if the actual foreclosure did not happen yet, the home is still in the owner's name and he has a right to his furniture. In this case, the bank did not have a right to any personal property until they legally took back the deed. Yes, the owner can go after you and the bank, but considering how the banks are handling sales these days, good luck getting any help from them. It's really too bad they told you this.

If it is already bank owned, then all you need if it were to go to court is to show the date that the deed went back to the bank and compare it with when the co. took the furniture.

Now, I am not in VA, but know that these rules apply in other states. Do you have a trusted Broker to go to and a Real Estate Attorney?
  • Mar 10, 2010, 12:40 PM
    2compassion