Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Mental & Emotional Health (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=205)
-   -   Stop skin picking! (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=149205)

• Nov 6, 2007, 01:47 PM
    templelane
    Stop skin picking!
    Does anybody know of any tips on how to stop picking the skin around my fingers and my head? Half the time I don't even notice I'm doing it. I work in a lab and it's not particularly safe to have broken skin working with the pathogens and chemicals.

It started when I was around six and it comes and goes. It's pretty bad at the moment, although it has been worse - I had a bald patch for a while! It is also fairly embarrassing to have minky fingers when you are trying to appear professional.

So has anyone overcome this problem? If so how?

Thanks in advance
  • Nov 6, 2007, 01:56 PM
    tickle
    You are probably opening yourself up to various infections by having lesions on your fingers, and maybe on your head, if they are airborne pathogens.

How can you be working in a lab, what kind of lab, with sore fingers and wounds. Explain yourself and go see a doctor and get checked out.

You are probably endangering other people as well.
  • Nov 6, 2007, 02:05 PM
    templelane
    Don't worry I am definatley only endangering myself! I work in a molecular biology/biochemistry lab, no human products etc purely research based.
    I understand it is a problem that's why I'm seeking any advice on how to stop.
    EDIT
    In all the years I've had this problem I have never once gotten an infection, I am very careful once I realise I've done it. It just concerns me that it does open up the possibility.
  • Nov 7, 2007, 05:42 AM
    KBC