Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Electrical & Lighting (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=105)
-   -   Hampton Bay Ceiling Fan - Light Comes On By Itself (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=27673)

• Jun 12, 2006, 07:44 AM
    jamsfowler
    Hampton Bay Ceiling Fan - Light Comes On By Itself
    Just installed a Hampton Bay ceiling fan with the remote control for the fan and the light. Old house and I it's my first time installing a fan. Pretty proud and works pretty well. O.K. just a little wobble.

After a while of operation, the light comes on without anyone touching the remote. Sometimes it will turn off and on again, kind of flashing.

We do have a TV remote in the same room. Would that affect the fan's and light's operation?

What is wrong?
  • Jun 12, 2006, 08:33 AM
    ceilingfanrepair
    Yes, you need to change the frequency of the fan and it's remote:

http://www.ceiling-fans-n-more.com/c...e-controls.php
  • Jun 12, 2006, 11:30 AM
    jamsfowler
    Thank you, I will give it a try
  • Jun 28, 2006, 07:47 PM
    dptaylor11
    Just wondering if you found changing the frequency helped? I have a Hampton Bay and have been reading several posts that they "have a mind of their own". My Hampton lights come on, go off, fan comes on and goes off by itself ALL THE TIME! Nothing we have tried has worked.
  • Jun 28, 2006, 08:40 PM
    ceilingfanrepair
    What have you tried? It is almost always a frequency problem easily fixed. See the link above.
  • Jun 28, 2006, 09:22 PM
    dptaylor11