Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Furniture (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   How can I repair rusted/tarnished brass? (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=168020)

• Jan 2, 2008, 02:24 PM
    mcbcm
    How can I repair rusted/tarnished brass?
    Hi. I bought a brass suit valet that was used. It seems to be tarnished and rusted/corroded, especially the tray that held coins. I tried some silver polish, steel wool, salt and lemon juice, but nothing seems to get the rust or the tarnish off! Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
  • Jan 2, 2008, 02:35 PM
    Clough
    Just from what you have described, it sounds like it needs to be buffed out by a machine. One of the things that I do for a living is that I refinish furniture and brass.

How large is this object, please?
  • Jan 2, 2008, 02:46 PM
    Clough
    Okay. I can see that you are now offline. Hopefully, we will be online at the same time sometime. There are some things that need to be determined here in order to help you the best.

How large is the valet?

Is it solid brass or plated?

If it is large and if it is solid brass, then can it be disassembled so that it can be buffed out more efficiently?

Are there any areas that appear to be scratched, pitted or even chipped?

Would you be able to post an image of it in this thread?
  • Jan 3, 2008, 12:51 PM
    mcbcm
    1 Attachment(s)
    Hi. Thanks for helping me out. It's about 3.5-4' tall, and can be disassembled into pieces. I've posted a picture of one of the pieces so you can get an idea of the damage. It seems some areas are rusted or chipped. I think it's solid brass-i did the "magnet test" and the magnet didn't stick. I'm hoping there's an inexpensive fix--i don't really want to invest money into it! Thanks for any advice you can give!
  • Jan 3, 2008, 12:58 PM
    Clough
    Just so you know, I am online now.
  • Jan 3, 2008, 01:01 PM
    Clough