Ask Me Help Desk

Ask Me Help Desk (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forum.php)
-   Family Law (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   Paternity and child support, parents in two separate states. (https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/showthread.php?t=700255)

• Sep 7, 2012, 05:11 PM
    Charles Wilson
    Paternity and child support, parents in two separate states.
    I am a college student in Colorado. Had a short relationship with a girl there, broke up and she moved to Florida. She calls me back 5 months later and says she is pregnant with my child. She puts unknown on birth certificate. Now, 6 months later she wants child support. I don't have any idea if the child is mine. I have no income of my own until I graduate college (two more years.) I want to avoid paternity establishment and child support until I am employed.
  • Sep 7, 2012, 05:14 PM
    JudyKayTee
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Charles Wilson View Post
    I am a college student in Colorado. Had a short relationship with a girl there, broke up and she moved to Florida. She calls me back 5 months later and says she is pregnant with my child. She puts unknown on birth certificate. Now, 6 months later she wants child support. I don't have any idea if the child is mine. I have no income of my own until I graduate college (two more years.) I want to avoid paternity establishment and child support until I am employed.

Has she filed for child support? If so, DNA will be required by the Court. If you are the father you will be ordered to pay.

The child needs food, shelter, clothing, medical treatment while you are in college.

If the child is yours and the mother goes on public assistance, the State will go after you for reimbursement.

Unfortunately, you are neither the first nor the last person who has had to drop out of college or change to part-time in order to support a child.
  • Sep 7, 2012, 05:16 PM
    smoothy