Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nosingaround Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 22, 2007, 12:09 PM
    Foreign Tax Credit for Filing Jointly, but living in different countries
    Here's the situation:

I'm a Permanent Resident, worked full-time in the US in 2006.
    My spouse was on an H-1, worked in the US till July went back to home country. He worked in home country from July, earned equivalent of $2500 in 2006. He has no immediate plans of returning to the US. He paid taxes equivalent of $650.
    We usually file jointly, with joint accounts, etc.

How do we report his foreign income? Should I file a Form 1116? Can we get foreign tax credit even though he was not a permanent resident? If yes, can form 1116 be filed electronically?

Please help! Thanks!
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 26, 2007, 11:14 PM
    You can file jointly, but not electrronically, as he must sign a statement stating his choice to file jointly with you. You can file Form 1116 to claim a tax credit for the foreign taxes paid.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Help me compute US tax liaibility after foreign tax credit [ 2 Answers ]

:eek: A us company Frank expand with a new co (Ana) formation into a foreign host company with a 20% tax on corporate income within its borders. At the end of its fourth yr of operations the foreign corp Ana distributes $100,000 to Frank from its earning and progits previously taxes by the host...

Tax filing jointly or separately? [ 3 Answers ]

I am in USA since May 2006. My wife and kid are still in India. My wife does not work. Both of them are dependent on me. I am going to India on 15th March 2007 and I would be back to USA with my wife and kid on 7th April 2007. My wife and kid are coming for the first time to USA. So, they do...