Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pavan_vadali Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 20, 2007, 02:14 PM
    F1-H1B (year 2005)
    Hello,

In the year 2005, I was a full-time student (on F-1 Visa), till June 2005. From July 2005, I started working for a company (on OPT) and since Nov 2005, I am on H1-B. Based on some false information, I filed my taxes using a wrong 1040 form and that resulted in me paying lot of money to the IRS. I understood that I should have done it using 1040NR-EZ, but it was too late. I would like to make an amendment to my 2005 tax return, now and I am looking for some professional consultancy. Please understand this situation and contact me if you can do the amendment.

Thanks,
    Pavan.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 20, 2007, 11:35 PM
    Pavan:

I believe we have already spoken.

I can do the amendment, but the tax paid will not change.

The amendment will only change your status back to non-resident alien.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

The Year 2005 [ 7 Answers ]

Got this one from my daughter today... YOU KNOW YOU ARE LIVING IN 2005 when... 1. You accidentally enter your password on the microwave. 2. You haven't played solitaire with real cards in years. 3. You have a list of 15 phone numbers to reach your family of three.

Married and changed to H1B after Oct 1,2005 [ 1 Answers ]

Hi Atlanta Tax Expert, I read your Sticky Announcement Part II. I think I can file as a resident alien by virtue of "CHOOSING RESIDENT ALIEN STATUS" that appears on Page 9 of Pub. 519 since: a) I am married b) Both me and my wife were non-resdents at the beginning of the year (F1 & F2...

Regarding H1B and Taxes for partial of 2005 [ 6 Answers ]