Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    GiGiGi Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 17, 2009, 03:07 PM
    F1 Student on CPT/OPT Tax filing
    I am an alien resident now on F1 visa status. In summer of 2008, I worked as an intern in a out of state company and received about $7800 payment. I have just graduated in Dec 2008 and now on OPT status and will have internship in the same state that I previously interned.
    The internship company did not withhold any tax, and I have not filed tax for the internship income in 2008 summer yet. I plan to do so but have no idea what tax form should I use, how much I should pay and how to file tax. I would be highly appreciated if someone can help me figure this out.

My questions again:
    1) what Tax Form should I use?
    2) how much tax should I pay?
    3) what kind of tax should I pay?
    4) how can I file tax? On line or in other way?
    5) Is the tax for OPT period different from CPT period?

Thanks so much for your help!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jan 17, 2009, 08:22 PM

1. If you did not complete 5 years on F1/OPT you will file non-resident tax return.
    2 & 3. If you are non-resident as pre 1. then your income is not subject to FICA or SE taxes. You will pay income taxes.
    4. File depending upon your resident status.
    6. No.
    Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents

Jan 17, 2009, 08:38 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by MukatA View Post
    1. If you did not complete 5 years on F1/OPT you will file non-resident tax return.
    2 & 3. If you are non-resident as pre 1., then your income is not subject to FICA or SE taxes. You will pay income taxes.
    4. File depending upon your resident status.
    6. No.
    Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents
    Hey MukatA, thanks so much for your help!

However, there are some terms that I don't understand. What is "pre 1" and "FICA"?