Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    AleAle Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Dec 4, 2007, 06:44 PM
    Taxes filed wrong - Non resident alien
    Hi, I am from Brazil and have been living in the US (f-1 visa) since May 2005. I am a non resident alien. While I was in school, I did an internship at the same company from oct 2005 to feb 2007and I filed my taxes using turbo tax in 2005 and 2006. I used the 1040EZ form because I was not aware I should use the 1040NR EZ. Currently I am on my opticional practical training and my current employer is not witholding my FICA because of my status. However, the previous company I interned with withhelded my FICA and they are in the process of reimburse me. They asked for me to send my 1040 form. SOOO.. I just now realized that I screw up these 2 years using the incorrect form. What should I do to correct this wrong filing? What do you recommend me to do? Do I contact IRS? Thanks a lot. AleAle!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Dec 5, 2007, 12:33 AM
    You may be non-resident alien (as you don't have green card) but you still can be resident alien for tax purpose. So, I think, you correctly filed 1040EZ, because of the number of days in the U.S. Also there is not Tax Treaty between the U.S. and Brazil that says that you can only file 1040NR/1040NR-EZ if you have F-1 visa.

Dec 5, 2007, 07:14 AM
    Hi, thanks for your response, but why I would want to be a resident alien for tax purpose? Do you know the difference of filling as a resident alien or as a non-resident (Benefts/detriments)? So you think I should not worry? But I am getting my FICA back, and only non-resident aliens can claim for these taxes. If I filed as resident alien, I should not be able to get my taxes back, then?

Thanks.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Dec 5, 2007, 12:57 PM
    MukatA:

Sorry, in this case you are wrong.

AleAle: