Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    littlebrat515 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 8, 2007, 04:20 PM
    Cartilage piercing and sports
    I am in dance team and I want to get a cartilage piercing dance team starts in November if I got it know would it be fine by then to take it out and leave it out for about 20 minutes. If not what are my options the rules are not jewlery so I don't know what to do.
    newlablover Posts: 120, Reputation: 10

Jun 8, 2007, 05:07 PM
    I used to be a store manager at a claires boutique for 3 years so this is probably the most professional answer you are going to get: a cartilage piercing takes 12 weeks to semi heal enough take the earring out for a short period, so you would be OK to leave it out for your practice or routines. Otherwise, it takes a full 3 years to be fully healed.
    whoaitspris Posts: 28, Reputation: 4

Jun 8, 2007, 05:22 PM
    I have 9 piercings so I'm pretty much an expert at dos and donts. Some people heal faster than others. That's the truth of it. BUT you have what? A good 6 months for it to heal if you get it before June is over. You should be okay to take it out for a short period. I wouldn't suggest leaving it out but for under an hour is should be all right. Make sure your hands are always clean when you take it in and out and make sure you clean the earring as well. Take into consideration what ear you get it in too because the side of your head you sleep on is going to be uncomfortable. If your extremely worried about taking it out then there are always retainers. I'm sure you can find a really small earring to put it your ear or a flesh colored one. If not I've known people to find a flesh colored nail polish and paint the top of the earring for it to be less noticeable. Anyway if you have any specific questions feel free to message me and id be happy to answer them. Good luck with your piercing.
    st17717 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 20, 2007, 04:00 PM