Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Superfly999 Posts: 235, Reputation: 14

Jun 7, 2007, 08:24 AM
    IT "assistant"
    What exactly would an IT assistant do? I found a pretty good job that pays good, but it is farely far away. I am a certified computer tech (building / repairing) so I have that part of the job down; but it list networking and programming on there too. I am "decent" on networking and not so experienced in programming. My question is what exactly would I be doing probably as an assistant and not the actual IT because of my lack of knowledge in the latter 2 areas.
    Jiser Posts: 1,266, Reputation: 281
    Ultra Member

Jun 7, 2007, 08:33 AM
    I am an I.T. Assistant in an Internship in my third year of uni. My current role is supporting and doing a variety of things where needed in a company of about 100. They build commercial boilers, there are also about 24 people with laptops who connect in over citrix, I support them as well as the people here.

Sometimes I awnser phones for the company, sometimes I am upgrading pc's or doing a format and xp rebuild. In all honesty though I don't do anything most days as nothing has gone wrong. In your situation I would imagine you will be expected to fulfill a variety of roles within the buissness such as upgrades, troubleshooting, ad hoc systems - you mentioned programming, maybe maintaining databases etc.
    Superfly999 Posts: 235, Reputation: 14

Jun 7, 2007, 08:37 AM
    Thank you, this gives me more of a picture of what I would do. I am still kind of iffy on the job though do to the amount of time it would take me to drive there every day.
    Jiser Posts: 1,266, Reputation: 281
    Ultra Member

Jun 7, 2007, 08:53 AM
    How far is it? Is it good money and will it give you a good base to launch your career from? Are they any advancement opportunities and will it be good experience etc? These are all questions you can ask yourself.
    ahsdrumguy Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 28, 2007, 08:43 AM