Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    addy Posts: 207, Reputation: 6

Jun 5, 2007, 05:31 PM
    Arm Strength for Stunting
    Okay, I am trying out for VArsity/JV cheerleading this year, and if I do make it, I will most likely not be a flyer, so I need to probably get some arm strength.I have 2 questions. My first question is how much do I need to be able to lift, and how can I get it?
    ActionJackson Posts: 301, Reputation: 28

Jun 5, 2007, 06:34 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by addy
    Okay, i am trying out for VArsity/JV cheerleading this year, and if i do make it, i will most likely not be a flyer, so i need to probably get some arm strength.I have 2 questions. My first question is how much do I need to be able to lift, and how can i get it??
    I am an ex-body builder. First of all, you will need to be able to lift the person you will be lifting. That would be pretty important. Will you be sharing the lift with someone or lifting alone? Lifting can be dangerous if done incorrectly. Not only will you need arm strength but you will need leg strength, back strength, and definitely, stomach strength. The stomach area and surrounding muscles are stabilizer muscles. As for how to build your strength, you must start slow and with fairly light weight at first. There are a couple of types of muscle building... there is definition building where you use lighter weights with more reps and bulk or strength building where you use heavier weight but with fewer reps. I used to like to work my upper body on one day and work my lower body on the other day and work my stomach muscles every time I worked out. However, there is such a thing as over working your body. It needs rest and proper nutrition as well. Now, I am not a professional nutritionist, body builder, doctor, or trainer so what I am saying is just based on things I have picked up over the years. Typically, it's good to do about 12 to 15 reps with enough weight that when you reach your last rep, you feel