Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    healthy_Moon Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 12, 2007, 05:57 PM
    Does Adipex work
    Hello, I am a 36 yo male who have been really active in the past but recently I have not been able to exercise as much, my wife just had a baby and I used the myth of gaining her baby fat. I am 5'9" 217lbs this is the most I have weight in my life. I am now trying to lose about 25-30lbs but as I got older this is really hard to do. I used to lose weight very fast when I was younger but now it is just so hard. My doctor prescribe me adipex, I am going to try it because I have tried everything from diet to exercise but nothing is working. I want to know what are some side affects from this drug and does it really work or just a something to destroy my health...
    templelane Posts: 1,177, Reputation: 227
    Ultra Member

May 13, 2007, 03:15 AM
    Hello I'm a pharmacology student not a doctor but I can tell you it's generic name is phentermine it works in a similar way to amphetamines on the noradrenalin (norepinephrine) system to reduce you appetite. That is thought to be it's main mode of action, although some others have been proposed. It is effective but it does have a lot of side effects so use it for a short time only, only as the doctor prescribes and check every other medication you might take with him first. I'm sure the doctor wouldn't have given it to you if you were at risk, but any problems you have don't hesitate to get in contact with him.

If you type it into a search engine loads of information will come up- but if you find any terms you want translated then just post again and I'll see if I can help.

Here's a couple of sites Adipex, MedlinePlus Drug Information: Phentermine
    And this one has some info on the clinical trials results
    http://www.rxmed.com/b.main/b2.pharm...)/IONAMIN.html
    Good luck
    lovelesspa Posts: 1,019, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member

May 13, 2007, 10:51 AM