Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    anitac Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 9, 2007, 11:00 AM
    Dating while dealing with mental health issues?
    I am currently a 3rd year student in college and so is my "boyfriend". We started dating a year ago but broke up abuot 6 months ago, because we were having problems. Although we both agreed that we needed to take a break and be single for a while, that never happened. We've continued to be friends with benefits for the past 6 months. Recently though, I've been extremely stressed out and might possibly be depressed due to school pressures and other things. Because of that, I have been generally unhappy and I feel like I'm weighin my friends/boyfriend down with my problems. A lot of times when I'm unhappy, I tend to get unhappy about our relationship and I cry a lot due to my general anxiety. Would it be smarter to see a psychiatrist and fix myself before officially dating my guy, or should I continue being friends with benefits while trying to become a happier person. I don't want my mental health to cause problems in the relationship yet I feel like I need someone by my side as I deal with this. My only other CLOSE friend is about 200 miles away, although I can always call him... sometimes, you just need a hug.
    Rockabilly1955mama Posts: 662, Reputation: 85

May 9, 2007, 11:04 AM
    Honey, I would take time to worry about yourself. If you are feeling emotionally stressed, you don't need to worry about him.
    InTheArmsOfGod Posts: 49, Reputation: 2

May 9, 2007, 11:52 AM
    I think you need to focus more on the things that make you happy. Everyone gets stressed out over many different reasons, but should know when to turn it off at any given point. If being with your significant other is supposed to make you happy, then you have to allow it to be so. If it adds more stress to your current state, then you need to drop it.