Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JJK Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

May 8, 2007, 06:03 AM
    How to build a set of steps?
    Hello, I'm looking for some information about building a set of steps for my deck. The deck is 16' wide and the steps will run the entire 16' width of the deck. I also want the steps to be extra wide. The drop to the ground is 4'. I've never built a set of steps before so any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kstar4u Posts: 255, Reputation: 22

May 8, 2007, 09:21 PM
    Maybe this web site will help.

Designing Stairs and Laying Out Stair Stringers
    NorCal68 Posts: 79, Reputation: 6

May 9, 2007, 09:03 PM
    Hi, I was going to tell you all kinds of things about stair construction - and then I took a look at the above answer's link. I think the very first line of that site sums it up nicely:

Stair building is one of the most complex aspects of carpentry.

And, the size of what you have in mind is pretty challenging as well. You might be better off hiring a qualified carpenter and let that person know right up front that you want to learn from them and help to build these things.
    Best of luck!
    glavine Posts: 895, Reputation: 87

May 19, 2007, 10:04 AM
    Stairs, Ok Here We Go.
    Your Will First Need A Carpentrys Square It's a Must Have On This, A Skill Saw, A Jig Saw Or Pull Saw And Some Saw Bucks

First You Said Your Deck Is 4' Off The Ground. You Will Have 6.4 Steps.
    The Way I Figured This Is 7 To 8" Rise Is Code You Have To Be Somewhere In The Range For The Step Rise.

Now The Run Of Your Step Is Set At 10.5" This Will Give You A 1 Over Hang When You Put Your Decking Boards Over It

Lay The Square On Top Of Your 2 X 12 X 10 And It Must Be A 2 X 12 Nothing Smaller.
    Set The Square To 7 And A Half Inches On The Left And 10 And A Half On The Right It Will Kind of Look Like A Triangle. You Trace This 6 Times