Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    togetherwestand Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 7, 2007, 02:32 PM
    14 and depressed and crying all the time
    All right, I have never done this before, but I feel like I am lost and my daughter is so sad and depressed this whole year and I don’t know what to do to make things better for her, or how to help her figure it out on her own. I will start by telling you that she is 14 and she is in her first year in high school 2 months into high school she had a bad knee injury in soccer and she had to have surgery and that involved cutting her chin bone in half and moving it over and by that she was home from school for 87 days, she missed out on a lot and she found out all the good friends she thought she had, she didn’t have, very few came around and our house was normally the party house, we had any where from 15 to 20kids here all the time. She has been back to school for about 7 weeks now and she can't seem to handle anything, she comes home from school crying all the time and she locks herself in her room, I feel so helpless she is always sad and she never used to be like this, I asked her the other day what is she afraid of the most and why is she so sad and she said to me" I am afraid of having no friends" this makes my heart hurt so bad because this is a child that all the way till now she has hung out with a very large group of kids ,and to top it all off her best friend that she has had for 10 years decided while she was out of school to date her ex boyfriend so that was just the icing on the cake, her best friend is now ignoring her in school. What do I do as a parent step back and let her figure it out, what do I do where do I turn I am so confused I feel helpless.I know this might seem very silly compared to other problems teens have but I am afraid at where she is going with her depression.
    J_sarah Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

May 7, 2007, 07:20 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by togetherwestand