Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    atamir Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 30, 2005, 10:59 AM
    Live in NJ Work in NY nebie question
    Hi,

This is my first year doing taxes, and needless to say I am slightly confused. Both myeslf and my wife live in New Jersey and work in NYC. Exactly which forms do we have to complete? Do we have to complete NY, NJ and federal returns? If so, would a program like TurboTax do all three?

Thanks in advance,
    Alan
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 30, 2005, 11:51 AM
    Alan:

TurboTax will do the return for you, and it will transfer the figures from your W-2s to the state tax software. However, it will not transfer figures from the NY software to the NJ software to properly figure the credit for paying taxes in NY. There are also a few other pitfalls you have to avoid. Finally, to use TurboTax in interview mode will take about four hours.

To buy the TurboTax Basic and the two state softwares will cost you about $85. I assume you are renting, with no children (since this is your first return). For $85, I will prepare your federal return plus both state returns. If you want to efile your federal return, that's an extra $15. I cannot efile the state returns as I am not registered for either NJ or NY.

If you are interested, contact me at [email protected] and we will discuss the details.
    atamir Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 31, 2005, 07:54 AM
    Quick question
    Thanks for that info!

I have a 401K that I contribute to out of every paycheck. Do I report this to the IRS even if I haven't made any withdrawals from the 401K? I haven't received a 1099R and am wondering if I should have...

Thanks!
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 31, 2005, 08:36 AM
    Alan: