Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gernie Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 25, 2007, 09:54 PM
    Being in the army and a mother of 2
    How to decide what to do if you're in the army and just came back from iraq and about to have your 2nd baby and 5 months later you're going to have to go back to iraq. I don't know if I should stay in or get out?:(
    Bluerose Posts: 1,521, Reputation: 310
    Ultra Member

Apr 25, 2007, 10:44 PM
    No one can answer that but you. Discuss your circumstances with someone you know and trust before making such an important decision.
    Hannah Senesh Posts: 6, Reputation: 4

Jul 27, 2007, 10:12 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by gernie
    how to decide what to do if you're in the army and just came back from iraq and about to have your 2nd baby and 5 months later you're gonna have to go back to iraq. i don't know if i should stay in or get out?:(
    As I'm a young veteran myself, I got to say, I don't know how you parents do it!! I was single with no dependents when I was enlisted, and I would have had a very difficult time going overseas with a husband and/or a child or two.

When is your ETS? I would say you do a cost/benefit analysis. The deployment will be 15 months, right? Is it worth it for you to be absent that long, with two very young children at home who you won't see for over a year? For most people, the answer would be no.

Best wishes with whatever decision you make! :)
    gernie Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jul 28, 2007, 08:28 AM
    I knew it would be hard to leave my kids for 15 months but I have to. I reenlisted for another 4 more months and going to iraq September this year. My ets is 2011. I really have no choice but to sacrifies for now. Hoping that it will pay off.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Army sign-on bonus [ 2 Answers ]