Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Catwoman52 Posts: 5, Reputation: 2

Apr 21, 2007, 12:07 PM
    Bonded and insured
    I'm thinking of starting a service oriented business that would be conducted at an individuals private residences. Light repair, upkeep, etc.

My husband and I would be the only employees. Do I need to be licensed, bonded and insured. If so, why and what must I do to achieve that status? Is it expensive to be bonded and insured. I guess I would, of course already have a business license.

Thanks for your help
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Apr 21, 2007, 02:02 PM
    One of the things that I do for a living is that I am a handyman. It sounds like that is the area of work in which you are going to be involved. Where I live, a handyman does not need to be licensed. So, whether you need to be license depends on the laws governing the sort of work you do.

Where I live, being bonded or not is up to the individual. There may be laws where you live that cover that also. I recently asked my attorney how I would go about being bonded, and he suggested going to an insurance agent. I don't know about the cost of being bonded.

I do, of course, have insurance. I went to an insurance agent that works with many carriers in order to get the carrier who's coverage was best suited to what I do. If you go to a small insurance office, chances are that they will not have a lot of carriers. So, your selection is smaller. Also, some companies will not insure you unless you have been in business for a certain length of time. A suggestion would be to see if there is realty office in your area that also has an insurance carrier section to the company. Chances are that they will have many carriers. That is how I got my insurance. My insurance costs about $425.00 per year. I make the payments for about $85.00 per month for a period of five months.