Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lorentz Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 17, 2007, 10:10 AM
    Selling skills!
    Hi, I'm a beginner in sales. So, I want to learn more about selling skills to be success in this field.
    Please give me some advises.
    wags Posts: 80, Reputation: 4

Apr 18, 2007, 07:14 PM
    I would need more information in order to help you. Industrial sales are different than Retail Sales etc. Generally I would suggest you learn everything you can about the products your selling, and then I would try to learn as much about whomever your selling to. Only when you understand their needs, can you offer solutions (using your products) that will solive those needs. Sales is a very rewarding profession, and one of the highest paid ones also. Good Luck !
    MCS80 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 21, 2007, 07:45 AM
    Hi there.

I to am new to the world of sales and have just started understanding the basics involved. I work in a retail store in Australia who specialize in Doors. I agree with Wags and say that the first thing to do is learn as much as you can about the product you are trying to sell, without product knowledge you can not advise the client confidently.

I also recommend that you read a few books on self improvement, i.e. How to win friends and Influence people, written by Dale Carnegie is a great start. You will be dealing with people on a daily basis so you need to learn how to get along with all types and work with them.

In the first month or so, be a sponge and just try to absorb and process information. I have worked in sales for less than a fortnight now and just made my first sale today and have to say it is a great feeling. Don't be afraid to ask questions, but make sure you don't spend all day doing so. Follow a few of the more experienced sales people around and learn from them.