Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    waffle22 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 16, 2007, 07:17 AM
    Don't understand usb2 and external harddrives 0.o
    Hey all~
    I got a 80gig external hard drive usb2.
    I'm no expert at stuff like this... but I figured that my computer doesn't have a usb2 port, so I bought a pci card with usb2 ports and shoved it into the slots in my motherboard.

Yet when I connect my external hard drive, it still says this device can perfrom faster if you connect it to a usb2 port. Also when I tried to transfer stuff over, it's slow as hell =(

No idea what going... any advice would be awesomly appreciated. =]
    BenReilly Posts: 55, Reputation: 6

May 9, 2007, 02:01 AM
    On Windows XP you need SP2 installed otherwise you can't use USB2 even the vendor driver which came with your card won't help you. Check the Service Pack and repost if that's not the problem.
    waffle22 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 9, 2007, 03:47 AM
    Hey~ Cheers for the reply
    Yeah I do have SP2 installed... o.0
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

May 9, 2007, 05:42 AM
    Are you plugging the drive into one of the slots on the PCI card? Just adding a card doesn't affect the all your USB slots. The original slots will still be USB 1.1.

If you are using a slot on the card, then I would check with the card manufacturer.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

I don't understand him. [ 4 Answers ]

Hi. Maybe I can get some insight here. I am a 28 year old dating a 32 (divorced of 3 years) man who has a 8 year old daughter. We have been dating for about 7 months. Became serious in the last 3 months. Back in February we decided we were ready to take the next step and move in with each other....

I don't understand her. [ 10 Answers ]