Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Mcote Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 4, 2016, 02:48 PM
    Retiring in toronto and then moving to montreal
    Good afternoon,

I've been working in Toronto for 15 years and more... now at the age of retirement, am moving closer to my family in Montreal.

Little research on internet worries me as they mention I will have to pay Quebec taxes if I live there on December 31st...
    Would everyone not see my last pay in October 2016 came from Ontario and my pension is paid from Ontario...
    Why would I need to pay taxes in Quebec.

Thanks for input.
    ma0641 Posts: 15,675, Reputation: 1012
    Uber Member

Jun 4, 2016, 06:02 PM
    What type of taxes? Property? Income? You will probably pro rata the taxes this year but you will pay Quebec taxes, next year. I get a pension from a PA company, live in GA, that's where the money comes to and is deposited. Income taxes paid in GA, none in PA. Fortunately, GA excludes most retirement income.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jun 7, 2016, 05:16 PM
    The plumbing expert's comments are valid for U.S. taxes, but your issue is with the Canadian tax system, which THIS forum does not address. Sorry!

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Move from Montreal to Toronto [ 0 Answers ]

Hi, I am looking forward to immigrate to Montreal under the Quebec program, that is after having CSQ and PRV. However, I would wish to move to Toronto after my landing process is complete in Quebec. I just wanted to know if this will not cause a problem in regards to my PR. Also, if I am able...

Retiring to usa [ 3 Answers ]