Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Phanikanth Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 5, 2016, 12:40 PM
    First-Year Choice for married filing jointly
    Ok, I believe I'm repeating the same question that's been asked multiple times on this forum. Anyway, I still have some queries. Here is my scenario.

I'm an Indian Citizen working on H1b from Oct'2015. Till then, I was an international student from Aug'2013. For the tax year 2015, I was working on OPT(F1) till Sept 30 2015. Also, I got married in Dec'14 and my wife moved with me to US as my dependant(F2) right away in 2014. She joined school in Dec'15 and changed her status from dependent to F1 from then(applied and waiting for SSN to start her part-time job on campus).

Considering all the above, I don't pass the SPT for 2015 till date, but I came across this article that mentions that I'll be eligible to file as US resident for tax purposes if I pass the SPT for 2016(which I believe I'll pass around June'16). I think I can either file for extension till then or just wait till then since I'm expecting a good refund if I file as resident alien.

Now, my question is that, in case I chose to file as US resident alien by the First-Year Choice for married filing jointly clause, do I file as resident for the entire year 2015 or as a dual status (Jan-Sept as Non-Resident Alien and Oct-Dec as Resident Alien)? Can someone advise me on what all forms I need to submit in either case ? Like 1040 or 1040-NR or 1040-NREZ ? And any other forms.

Apart from these, will I be eligible for Standard Deductions like any US Citizen or any treaty tax exemptions(US-India Treaty for students). I paid tuition fees in the first half of 2015 and My wife joined School in Dec'15 and got a Scholarship as well. How do I mention/file all these items in any of the cases that I'm eligible for.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 5, 2016, 12:52 PM