Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lady16 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 24, 2016, 07:10 AM
    I am a permanent resident, spouse in Jamaica. How do I file taxes?
    I am a permanent resident with social security number (British)working in the USA .My husband lives and is from Jamaica he has no SSN I am the sole support what does it benefit me to file with him as a dependent? Also is a W7 the correct way to do this? Anything else tat might benefit ?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 24, 2016, 09:26 AM
    You will NOT claim him as a dependent.

You WILL file jointly with him.

This requires that you declare his Jamaican salary on your U.S. tax return, but because he is in Jamaica, you can then EXCLUDE the Jamaican salary using Form 2555 (Foreign Earned Income Exclusion).

You WILL need to submit Form W-7 to get him an Individual Tax Identification Number. The various ways to apply are listed below my title below.

If he is NOT scheduled to visit you in the U.S. any time soon, I recommend using the CAA option, due to the 100% success rate. I am a CAA, so if you wish to use my service, you can email me at the email address in my profile.

ATE

FIRST ALTERNATIVE: This certification can be done by the Jamaica embassy in Washington, D.C. or at one of the consulates in cities across the country. Assuming you do NOT want to drive there, you need to call the nearest consulate and arrange to have this process done via the mail. Since you usually must wait until June to file, you have time to get this done (the process, done via mail, can take up to three months to complete).

SECOND ALTERNATIVE: The IRS also has Tax Assistance Centers through which you may be able to have the passport verified as genuine, then submit the tax return and Form W-7 IN PERSON to be forwarded to the ITIN Processing Center in Austin, Texas for processing , without having to get the photocopies certified by your home country consulate.