Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Mzzparis Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Feb 22, 2016, 10:44 AM
    Cosmopolitan Prep school
    I tried calling this number and was told they do not have the records because Cosmopolitan was not legal. Omg! What now? I graduated from there 32yrs ago in 1984.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Feb 22, 2016, 11:01 AM
    I don't know what you mean by "not legal." From what I can tell it was not accredited, which means its diplomas would have virtually no value. When it closed they apparently did not turn over records to the state for any students after 1980. You might want to try calling the number on this PDF:

www.isbe.state.il.us/pbvs/pdf/closed_school_list.pdf

Feb 22, 2016, 11:14 AM
    Cosmopolitan Prep school
    I graduated from Cosmopolitan Prep School in 1984. I lost my diploma due to a fire in 1987. I have been working since 1984 consistently. I have recently been offered a job in the health industry and was asked to produce a physical copy of my diploma after 32yrs of receiving it. I am just learning that this school was not legit?? I spent so much of my hard earned money to obtain my diploma. I have contacted the Board of Education and they can't help. Today I was to start my new job, however since I couldn't provide proof of diploma I was told that I couldn't start. What the hell am I supposed to do now? I will be 50yrs old this year and running into this problem now?? I need answers and my diploma for goodness sake. Can someone please, please help me? I have bills and taking care of my elderly mother. I have always been employed and now I'm not. I went to Cosmopolitan Prep School in Chicago, IL.. I would appreciate any help you can provide.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Feb 22, 2016, 11:34 AM