Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    filly2000 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 12, 2007, 03:21 PM
    Estimated taxes for F-1
    Hi,

I am an F-1 student, but for 2007, it will be my sixth year here, so I will be filing as a resident for tax purposes next year. I know this is thinking far ahead, but I am concerned about estimated taxes.

I am working under OPT as contractor for 2 companies, and will probably earn a total of 3,200-3,500 from them till my work permit expires.

Then, when I start school again this fall, I am expecting to receive about 12,000 (Sept to Dec) as fellowship stipend. The school is also paying for my tuition, about 18,000.

I also hope to get on-campus employment.

My question is, should I make computations for estimated taxes, and start making quarterly payments? My contractor jobs end by May. I paid $0 in taxes for 2006.

Thank you.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 19, 2007, 03:12 PM
    If the fellowship is ax-free income, then estimated taxes will not be necessary, though you WILL have to pay about $500 in self-employment taxes come April 2008.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Estimated Tax Qtrly Filing for 1099 income [ 1 Answers ]

My sole source of Income will be primarily 1099 (Non-Employee Compensation). Thus I would require to file the 1040 ES and the CA 540 ES each qtr. Do I require to pay FICA+Medicare? And where would I file this under the 1040ES? Likewise, for CA, there's the SDI (State Disability Insurance),...

Estimated Taxes for 2007 [ 3 Answers ]