Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    123diddle Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2007, 06:44 PM
    Repayment options
    I have a couple of different questions..

First of I was rear-ended in February, the person that hit me has no insurance. My vehicle was totaled and the insurance is only paying $5000 to my lien holder leaving me a total of $3000 left due. I have been paying on the vehicle since 2001, and I did NOT have gap insurance. The loan company that holds the title to my vehicle is now requesting the entire $3000 at once or continued payment of my previous car payments. If I don't comply they are threatening garnishment. Do I have to pay this at their requests or can I make payments as I can afford?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 11, 2007, 07:16 PM
    You will havve to pay your reguar payment if you did not pay the loan off in full. If you don't, you will be in default of the loan and they may sue you. If they sue you and get a judgement they can garnish your pay.

did you owe that much more than the value of the car?

Next of course you are to sue the other driver for your loss and try to garnish his wages also.
    RichardBondMan Posts: 832, Reputation: 66

Apr 12, 2007, 03:11 AM