Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hscornelia Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 12, 2015, 01:34 AM
    Is Word Smart good for preparing the TOEFL test?
    Hello, I am a student willing to pass the TOEFL test next year, maybe in the spring or summer.

And in order to prepare for the upcoming test, I have bought Word Smart 1 for my vocabulary.
    I know that the book is more orientated for students preparing the SAT, and therefore, more difficult, but since I am willing to pass the SAT maybe 2 years later, after I have passed the TOEFL, I bought it nonetheless.

But now I am worried that I haven't got the right book, and am thinking of buying another one (for vocabulary) for the TOEFL.

So I would be more than thankful if you would please tell me whether I could use Word Smart for preparing the TOEFL, and if not, what is the best book you have used, and got fairly good results thanks to it.

And also, I am hesitating to buy Barron's TOEFL iBT superpack, because it is too expensive for me. So I would very much like if you could give me some true reviews about this book, and whether the books that I have and will will/might buy is enough for the TOEFL.

And just in case, I would like to inform you that I am buying ETS' The Official Guide to the TOEFL Test.

Thank you in advance.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 12, 2015, 01:46 AM
    While it is a good book, you need to buy one of the TOEFL books. Also even private tutoring if you can. The test is very difficult. I teach it and depending on what level grade you need it can be quite hard.
    hscornelia Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 12, 2015, 02:04 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr_Chuck View Post
    While it is a good book, you need to buy one of the TOEFL books. Also even private tutoring if you can. The test is very difficult. I teach it and depending on what level grade you need it can be quite hard.
    Thank you for your quick answer.