Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    4thgenuscitizen Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 30, 2015, 03:21 PM
    Work visa coworker versus promotion
    A coworker who came from foreign country (bob) who earned a masters degree, obtained a work visa, and has been employed for 5 years for same company that I have been employed with for 3 years is being considered for a manager position. I have a bachelors degree with 25 years of experience with tons of certifications. From many Dept's, many say I'm better suited for that position. The problem is the hiring director is leaning towards Bob because he has a masters. My question, I'm not sure what the Texas law says about at what work visa status can a foreign person be promoted before any us citizen is given the opportunity to interview?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Apr 30, 2015, 03:34 PM
    There is no federal or state law that addresses this. I doubt that any company policy does either.

[I had a much longer response for about 2 minutes, but I had misread, thinking that you have 25 years with this company.]
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Apr 30, 2015, 04:20 PM
    In Canada he would not be considered unless the company proved that a CDN citizen could not fill the job.

Has he not over stayed his visa ? That would disqualify him if so
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 1, 2015, 02:36 AM
    I may disagree with Canada, since he would already be in country, with work visa and not need any new papers.

But in US, he has actually a better chance, with a higher degree and already 5 years of experience.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

May 1, 2015, 03:40 AM
    Re Canada - fill the job, or be promoted when he's already working there?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

May 1, 2015, 06:16 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by 4thgenuscitizen View Post