Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gtinoco Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 8, 2015, 12:54 PM
    2001 Mazda Tribute won't start...AGAIN.
    Hello everyone, this is my first time posting and I need some answers. I have a 2001 Mazda Tribute v6. I have had it for a year now. I bought it from a used dealership and it all of the sudden it stopped working. It used to turn on just fine and then start shaking where I would have to put my car in park and step on the gas a little so it wouldn't turn off on me, because sometimes it would just shut off at the stop lights.

One day it just wouldn't turn on for nothing it would crank over but couldn't get it to start. We ended up getting a jump and decided to take it to see if the battery was bad. We ended up getting a new battery because ours was a bad one. They also checked the starter and alternator and said they were good. Next day started up good no problem took it to a mechanic and said everything looked good and even check the codes and said nothing wrong.

The next day the car wouldn't start for nothing. I tried jumping it again nothing. We changed the fuel filter nothing, spark plugs, nothing. We checked the fuel pump and fuel line and fuel is good it still cranks over but doesn't start. I'm clueless and that's my only car. I have no direction of where I'm going with this now.

Please help I'm desperate for answers 😢
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Mar 8, 2015, 02:26 PM
    Check for spark. You may need to replace the Crankshaft Position Sensor and the Camshaft Position Sensor. When these sensors intermittently fail, they often don't throw a code. More than 90% of crank but won't start situations are electrical related, not fuel.

Mar 8, 2015, 08:12 PM
    Thank you, ill definitely try that and ill get back to you, Thank you!

Mar 9, 2015, 01:29 PM
    It worked but...
    Thank you TxGreaseMonkey,