Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    luckygreen Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Feb 26, 2005, 11:16 AM
    Filing for NJ and NY
    I worked in NJ and NY this year. I am a NJ resident. I am using turbo tax. When I do each state filing, do I only enter the W2s that were sent by that state into the respective return or do I need to keep them add them together? Any insight is appreciated.

Dave
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 28, 2005, 02:43 PM
    Dave:

That can be tricky, as New Jersey uses a slightly different method of determining what your gross wage is when compared to the IRS method (the NJ method produces a higher gross wage). Recognizing this, the NJ tax officials allows you to adjust the wage on the NJ state tax forms themselves. I have not used TurboTax for years, so I cannot say how the NJ state version of TurboTax addresses this issue.

Now, since you are a NJ resident, New Jersey expects you to report all of your income, regardless of where you earned it. New York, on the other hand, will tax you only on income you earned while physically present in NY state. TurboTax should refer you to the Non-Resident version of the NY Tax Form, on which your federal income and your NY-only income will be separated and the NY state income tax should be calculated only on the income which originates from NY state.

The good news is that, if you are paying both NY and NJ income taxes on the same income, NJ allows a dollar-for-dollar credit on the NY taxes paid.

Contact me if you have other questions.

Atlanta Tax Expert
    hifriend27 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 12, 2005, 01:30 PM
    Work in NYC and a resident of NJ
    Hello

I live in NJ and work in NYC.
    Since my employer is based in NYC, they withheld (NY State) Taxes around 5% and local Taxes(NYC) around 3%.

So when I fill Form NJ-1040, I find that I owe the whole year taxes to NJ (around 2+%). Is that the case it should be?