Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cyfi Posts: 22, Reputation: 1

Sep 1, 2014, 12:33 PM
    Bumped into an ex-crush recently, did his strange behaviour mean anything?
    I had a falling out with a guy I met in university almost 2 years ago. (He basically pushed hard to get my attention and and be my friend. He stared to the point where I was very uncomfortable and flirted a lot (although I was in denial at the time that he or anyone for that matter could like someone like me). It was when I tried to reciprocate his interest in the only ways I knew how, as I have no dating experience and have trouble (and fear) expressing my feelings, did he start paying less attention to me, and flirted with girls online. When I found out I was so hurt that I went cold turkey on him: stopped responding to his text messages, didn't go to his bday party (he had invited me) and didn't wish him a 'happy birthday' either. In addition I erased his phone number and "unfriended" him on facebook, and ignored him once when I saw him in public. Looking back I realize this sounds harsh or mean, but you wouldn't believe how badly his actions hurt me. I suffer from anxiety and endure terrible bouts of depression and thanks to him I was under a depression episode for a long time (crying, hating myself, blaming myself for him treating me badly by convincing myself I was unlikable and didn't deserve anyone). There were many times when I wanted so badly to kill myself, only the fear of pain stopped me from trying.
    Earlier this year in February, a mutual friend invited us both to a party. She didn't know about our falling out so she kept pushing me to talk to him, and was a little too drunk to notice my hesitance. Eventually I caved and tried to wave at him when I saw him in the room, but he just stared and looked angry. And we didn't speak that night. Not that I had expected/wanted us to at the time.