Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bordercollie80 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Aug 19, 2014, 06:06 PM
    Looking for a dog breed...
    Hi there!! I am searching for a new dog, but I'm not sure if what I'm looking for exists... But no shame in asking! Here goes. I want to show in agility and obedience, and though I have never done it before, I have the training under control (I have also found a few agility clubs nearby). I would like the breed to be very loyal, too. I'm sure you have many dogs in mind right now... Aussie, ACD, border collie, German shepherd, and the list goes on. But my yard is rather small (yes, it's fenced in) . I will be gone from at least 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM five days a week more than half the year; I'm in grade school. The new dog would definitely have a doggie buddy while I am gone, but only one (most likely). So, in other words I want Loyalty, Smarts, and Agility in the dog, but I have a small yard and will be gone much of the day. I was looking at the sheltie... What do you think about that?? Any other breeds you can think of off the top of your head?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Aug 19, 2014, 06:11 PM
    You have a dog now? If so, does someone take it for walks and pottying when you're not at home?
    bordercollie80 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Aug 19, 2014, 06:41 PM
    Yes, two. They stay outside, though, in the yard.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Aug 20, 2014, 02:58 AM
    You have two dogs at home who are always outside, how do they interact with you and your family. Are they actually pets, or just 'dogs in the yard'?

You want a dog to show, but have no background in training or how to treat a dog. Sorry, buddy, you have a long way to go and I absolutely would not recommend a dog to you until you prove to be a responsible caring dog owner.
    Cat1864 Posts: 8,007, Reputation: 3687
    Marriage Expert

Aug 20, 2014, 04:25 AM